So on the weekend, I went on a bit of a cooking spree.  It’s been difficult lately to get supper done on time with the 3 kids (and 4-5pm  seems to be witching hour for the two little ones).   Yes, I stay at home with the kids all day, but as most SAHM’s can tell you, it doesn’t make it any easier to get supper on the table for 5:30!  So I decided to be proactive and make some of our meals in advance.  It did take a bit of work, but was worth it I think.  This way we’re less likely to get take out, or just to grab hot dogs.  This way I  can have some sort of guarantee that we can have a healthy supper without all the work on that day!

So here’s the list of what I did over the weekend.  Hopefully it gives you some inspiration to make your life a little easier too!

Saturday:

  • All I did on Saturday was made Italian Sausage and Tomatoe Rotini .  I was able to pick up a bulk package of Italian Sausage for under $10 (this makes 2 meals for us) so I made up one pan with the sauce so all I would have to do it make pasta and heat up the sauce on Sunday.  I also cooked up the other half of the sausage because it’s really difficult to squeeze sausage out of the casings with kids running around!  ps.  I would suggest sausage to anyone looking to mix up their meals.  I use it instead of hamburger in a lot of recipes.  Super yummy.  $$$ Trick:  Only buy the sausage in the casings.  Squeeze it out yourself at home!  It’s somehow cheaper I think.  Wanna get even cheaper?  Buy ground pork (or whatever meat you want)and make your own sausages!

Sunday:  (The crazy day!)

  • Fruit and Yogurt Smoothie Bags.  We got through a lot of smoothies and it’s such a pain to measure everything out.  And plus when J1 makes them himself he makes WAY too much and it gets wasted.  I’ve seen a lot of recipes out there that add sugar.  YOU DON’T NEED TO!!!!  Save yourselves the calories and add half of a very ripe banana!  Anyway, I made strawberry banana, peach mango strawberry banana, and raspberry blueberry.  So good!

 

  • Lean Hamburg Jumble.  This is from the books by Sandi Richard.  These are super helpful for anyone trying to get dinner done quickly.  I didn’t freeze the pasta in this dish, just did up the sauce (which is like a runny chili minus the beans).  When it’s time to cook it,  I just bring it to a boil, add my pasta, and cook until done.

 

  • Bolognese sauce from Rachael Ray.  I have her Yum-O cookbook and it’s really great.  The sauce is from what she calls rollover meals.  My kind of cooking!  Look on her site…I believe there’s some rollover recipes on there too.  This I doubled and have 2 bags downstairs.  I’ll either serve it with spaghetti squash, add beans and corn and make chili, or just over plain spaghetti.

 

  • Fried Rice casserole.  This is my moms’ recipe and I have no idea where it came from.  Makes a great fast lunch. It’s super easy:
  • 2C Rice (NOT INSTANT!)
  • 1C Celery
  • 1 Package Onion Soup Mix
  • 1 Can mushrooms (I hate canned mushrooms, so I chopped up about 6 or 7 and threw them in)
  • 1 green pepper diced
  • 3 oxo cubes (See below)
  • 2.5C water (you can substitute chicken stock and not use the oxo cubes)
  • 2.5 TBSP soya sauce
  • 3 TBSP oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • You literally chop it all up, throw it in a casserole dish and bake it in the over at 350 for about 45min.  It might take a little longer or a little less. Keep an eye on it.  When the waters absorbed, it’s done.

 

  • The last thing I made were “granola bars”.  I got the recipe from Maggies Place back when M was little.  Super yummy and a nice little treat!
  • 2C whole wheat flour
  • 1C rolled oats
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • 1tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2tsp nutmeg
  • 2 eggs
  • 1C melted butter
  • 1C brown sugar or honey
  • 1tsp vanilla
  • 1c chocolate chips
  • Mix all together and press into a cookie sheet.  Bake @ 375 for 10-15min. Cut into bars when cooled.

Here’s a couple of websites that I really enjoy to help with my freezer cooking!  If I can give you one suggestion though…make a small batch of something new, then make a couple batches of it to freeze.  You don’t want to be stuck knowing that you have 2 more meals down there waiting for you that you can barely get through.  The point is to save money and time!

