Had a chicken that wouldn't fit in my freezer and it snowballed to an entire day of canning!

Had a chicken that wouldn’t fit in my freezer and it snowballed to an entire day of canning!

On the weekend, I headed home to help with canning some deer meat at my Grandmothers.  Well, I didn’t make it in time (who would have thought our house would lock us in!) but I did come home with some goodies!  Including 2 chickens!  Unfortunatly my freezer was full, so I cooked up one of the chickens in the pressure cooker and yesterday went to town canning it.  (Follow the directions from here)  Then I realized I had venison roasts in the freezer that were never going to get eaten and were taking up more space in the freezer so I cubed those up as well.  I raw packed them, which I’ve never done before.  We’ll taste it and see if I’ll do it again.  I only made up 2 pints just incase.

So all together I did 4 pints of chicken, 2 pints and4 quarts of chicken stock and 2 pints of venison.  What a way to spend the weekend!

