We’ve had a pretty mild winter up until the last view weeks.  School has been cancelled twice in the past two weeks because of storms.  We’ve shovelled more snow then I ever want to again.  And it’s only the middle of February.  I know that it’s nowhere near over.  If it had spread itself out over the course of the winter, I think I could have handled it a bit better.  But two weeks of snow, then it all melting into spring and then Mother Nature lauging at us again tends to wear this girl down.  Image

So what’s a Momma to do?

Plan her garden of course!

Truro Seedy Saturday is this weekend and I will be buying as many seeds as I can this weekend.  My goal this year is to start as many seeds myself as I can.  (And to pray that our garden doesn’t flood out this year!)

Here’s our tentative plan:

  • Green Beans
  • Kale
  • Broccoli Raab
  • Paste Tomatoes
  • Tomatillo
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Spinach
  • Peas
  • Carrots
  • Edamame
  • Peppers!  (Green, sweet, hot, etc.)
  • Maybe onions

Last year we had a lot of challenges.  Too much rain, then drought, then a flood that wiped out the end of the season.  Blight on the tomatoes.  Underestimating how much chard will come back (that stuff never dies!).  A 3 year old and a 1 year old don’t make the best gardening compainions.

But we are ready for the new year!  We will be renting a plot from the community garden again and are reassured that the flooding was a rare occurance and should not happen again.

ImageGo check out your local Seedy Saturday!  Free classes (I’m taking the session on seed saving at the very least) and an overall good time.

