Seeds from Truro Seedy Saturday

Seeds from Truro Seedy Saturday

I forgot all about telling everyone what I got from Seedy Saturday that was last weekend.  Some were bought and some were from the trading table.  I’m hoping next year to be able to share some seeds that I saved with everyone as well!

I did take in a session presented by Michelle Smith of North Wind Farms about seed saving.  So excited!  She talked about what seeds to buy to start saving seeds, why you will have a rough go saving and then growing hybrid seeds (but really, why should we) and talked a little about how to save seeds.  I’m so excited to try saving seeds this year and really hope it works out.  There’s something about doing things the way that our ancestors did things that just makes me smile.  I love thinking about my great grandmothers while I’m gardening, my grandfather while I make bread, my nanny while I do laundry (even in the 50’s she handwashed clothes and diapers for her children.  She had 12 all together, but didn’t have a washing machine until the last few.), my gramma and great-grandmother while canning, and all the other family members that I never knew while I do anything homesteading.  The fact that I choose to do these things while they didn’t have a choice in the matter floors me every time.

I digress;

So the seeds I got were parsnips, Black Prince tomato and jalapeno peppers from Hope Seeds, kale mix, Amish paste tomato and broccoli Raab from Annapolis Seeds and Jacob’s Cattle and Thibodeau du Comte Beauce (how could I refuse!) from North Wind Farm.  The last two will be grown for dry beans.  I’ve never grown parsnips and am really hoping that we can get enough frost on them.  We will be using the community garden again and have to have everything out by the end of October.

My daughter and I have already marked the calender for seed starting and can’t wait!

Anyone else get some seeds, planned their gardens, etc. yet?

